States False Claims Acts

Judge's wooden gavel and USA map. concept of the judicial system in many States, attorney's fees in different States, justice in the American

The Federal False Claims Act stands as the most effective legislation ever passed by Congress to combat fraudulent activities in the United States’ history. Since its refinement through the 1986 Amendments, it has enabled the federal government to recoup billions from businesses and organizations implicated in defrauding the governmental bodies in FCA cases. This act has thus led to the rise of whistleblower initiatives to counter fraud widely across the nation.

Currently, 30 states, along with the District of Columbia, have enacted their versions of the False Claims Acts, with some municipalities and counties following suit. While these local laws are founded on the principles of the federal False Claims Act, there are unique elements and procedures to each that need careful consideration when filing a case.

Consequently, we have developed a comprehensive guide addressing each state’s False Claims Act and their respective variations.

Why do some states have their own False Claims Act?

Some states have their own False Claims Acts to combat fraud and protect their own interests. By having their own legislation, states can address specific concerns and tailor enforcement efforts to their unique needs. Additionally, state False Claims Acts can incentivize whistleblowers to come forward and expose fraudulent activities that harm the state’s financial resources.

Which state was the first to have it’s own False Claims Act?

The state of California was the first to enact its own False Claims Act. California’s False Claims Act was passed in 1987, paving the way for other states to establish their own laws to tackle fraud and protect their resources.

Which states have their own False Claims Act?

As of 2020, over thirty states and the District of Columbia have their own False Claims Acts.

These include: California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin and the District of Columbia.

Each of these has implemented their own laws to combat fraud and protect state resources, reflecting the unique needs and circumstances of their jurisdiction.

Are there any cities that have their own False Claims Act?

Several other cities have established their own False Claims Acts to protect their municipal resources. These include New York City, Chicago, and Philadelphia. It is important to note that the scope and provisions of these laws may differ, reflecting the unique circumstances and needs of each city.

Are there any counties that have their own False Claims Act?

Yes, Miami-Dade County, County of Allegheny, Hallandale Beach, Bay Harbour Islands, and Broward County.

Which states have Medicaid Only “False Claims Acts?

Currently, there are 14 states with “Medicaid Only” False Claims Acts. These states include Connecticut, Louisiana, Michigan, New Hampshire, Texas, and Washington.

These states have False Claims Acts that extend only to Medicaid fraud cases, reflecting their emphasis on combating healthcare fraud within their Medicaid programs.